Ferris nets 26-player class on National Signing Day

There will be a new breed of Bulldogs 26 strong taking the field for Ferris State next season.
There will be a new breed of Bulldogs 26 strong taking the field for Ferris State next season. Photo by: Katie Tobak | Photographer
Ferris state football kept its recruiting in-state with 26 players from Michigan signed during National Signing Day on Wednesday, Feb. 3.

Head coach Tony Annese and his recruiting staff left no corner of Michigan’s lower peninsula unrecruited, inking players in every high school division.

Annese said, “We’ve recruited nationally in the past and signed kids from out of state, but this year we identified and found the guys we really wanted right here at home in the state of Michigan.”

This is a balanced recruiting class with 11 offensive players, 13 defensive players and two kickers. Seven of the 26 players earned All-State recognition.

Five receivers, five lineman, and a running back were added on offense. The offensive linemen are the most decorated corps of players with three of them garnering All-State laurels.

Wide receiver Lindrell Mitchell, who caught 81 balls for 953 yards and 15 touchdowns as a senior, was the player Annese and his staff had the hardest time recruiting.

Annese said, “Of the guys we got, he was probably the hardest to get. We love all the guys we got but he had a lot of attention. We really won out on Lindrell.”

The most heavily represented corps was the defensive secondary. Six defensive backs joined the squad along with two linebackers and five defensive linemen.

With new Bulldogs ready to get groomed into the Ferris football culture, the two-time defending GLIAC champions look like they have another solid roster with over 50 letter winners returning.

Listed below is the full class of Ferris State commits:

WR: Aaron Vinson – River Rouge

WR: Ashawnti Howard – River rouge

WR: Lindrell Mitchell – East English village

WR: Brett Pero – Swartz Creek

Slot: Nate Boleware – East English Village

RB: James Wyrick – Ottawa Hills

OL: Dylan Pasquali – Trenton

OL: Juanye Johnson – Muskegon

OL: Karson Murley – Lowell

OL: Jake Boonstra – Kenowa Hills

OL: Caleb Wisniski – Onekama

DB: Miles Jones – Grand Rapids Christian

DB: Keyante Carpenter – Muskegon

DB: Cyntell Williams – Battle Creek Central

DB: Jesse Johnson – Pershing

DB: BJ Powell – East Lansing

DB: Alex Bock – Detroit Catholic Central

LB: Trevor Tank – South Lyon

LB: Liam Daly – Jackson Lumen Christi

DE: Lawrence Gordon – Saginaw Arthur

DL: David Curl – Watervaliet

DL: Gregory Leatherwood Jr. – University of Detroit Jesuit

DL: Tyler Shreve – Walled Lake Western

DL: Austin Simpson – Livonia Churchill

K: Jackson Dieterle – Jenison

K: Tyler Burch – Hill-McCloy