Dylan Tantalo: Your new president

138 votes propels Tantalo to next year's student government presidency

Ferris criminal justice senior Dylan Tantalo was elected to serve as next year’s student government president after receiving 138 of the 217 votes in this year’s election.

Runner-up Noah Angeliri received 76 votes while ex-director of finance Dylan Carpenter received one write-in vote, according to student government’s director of public relations Alexa Torres.┬áThe victor was announced April 12.

Of the 14,533 students attending Ferris State’s Big Rapids campus, just 1.5┬ápercent cast a ballot in the annual election.┬áComparatively, 920 students voted in this year’s Homecoming royalty election.

Voter turnout is down 66 percent from last year’s total, as the previous year’s presidential election drew 633 total voters.

Stay tuned to fsutorch.com for further updates and comments from the new president.