Sports Shorts

Women’s basketball pick up first win of season
The women’s basketball team picked up their first win of the season over Findlay in GLIAC play 62-58 behind a dramatic fourth quarter surge led by junior forward Rachel McInerney’s 13 points, 16 rebounds and five blocks.

The Bulldogs were down fifteen points going into the fourth quarter but a combination of stifling defense and three-point marksmanship from guards, redshirt freshman Riley Blair and sophomore Alex Bush, were able to push them over the top to claim the win. This allowed Ferris to overcome 20 turnovers, in part by holding Findlay to 31 percent shooting while hitting nine of 14 at 64.3 percent from three-point range.

The team is now 1-1 in the GLIAC and is a half-game back from third place in the GLIAC North Division Standings, tied with Northwood and Lake Superior State.

Men’s basketball fall to 5-2 after overtime loss
The Ferris State men’s basketball team was unable to capitalize on 28 points from senior Quentin Ruff and ended up losing to the Findlay Oilers in overtime 81-77.

Both teams were tied up 68-68 at the start of overtime but Findlay was able to capitalize on four trips to the free throw line to ice the game away.

The Bulldogs topped Findlay in rebounds 43-36 but allowed the Oilers to shoot 47.1 percent from three-point range. The Dawgs turned the ball over 17 times over the Oilers eight. Sophomore center Zach Hankins and junior point guard Drew Cushingberry had 14 points each. Hankins also leads Ferris in rebounds with 14.

Ferris State Alum and record holder Jason Vander Laan named 2017 NCAA Today’s Top 10 Recipient
Jason Vander Laan is the first Ferris Student Athlete to be chosen as a NCAA Today’s Top 10 recipient.

Honorees are chosen as one of the nation’s best former student-athletes from all levels for their achievement academically, athletically and work in the community. Recipients finished their college athletics careers during the 2015-16 school year. They are selected by the NCAA Honors committee made up of representatives from member schools and conferences as well as former college athletes.

Vander Laan is known for winning the 2014 and 2015 Harlon Hill Trophy which goes to the most valuable player in Div. 2 College Football. He also set the record with most rushing yards for any NCAA quarterback in history with 5,953 total career yards. He is also the only QB to ever have more than 1,000 yards passing and rushing for four consecutive seasons.

The honorees will be recognized during the 2017 NCAA Convention which will take place in January of 2017.