Elite company

Jayru Campbell selected as a finalist for the Harlon Hill Trophy

Photo by: Samantha Cavotta | Torch Photographer

Ferris junior quarterback Jayru Campbell is one step closer to bringing in the most prestigious award in NCAA Division II football.

Campbell, the Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Player of the Year, was selected as one on 37 candidates for the Harlon Hill Trophy, awarded to the best player in Division II across the nation. On Wednesday, Nov. 28, Campbell was named as a finalist for the award along with eight other athletes.

Among the other finalists is Hillsdale College senior quarterback Chance Stewart; Notre Dame College (South Euclid, Ohio) freshman running back Jaleel McLaughlin; Bowie State (Maryland) senior quarterback Amir Hall; Valdosta State (Georgia) sophomore quarterback Rogan Wells; Southern Arkansas (Magnolia, Arkansas) senior receiver Ka’Ronce Higgins; Emporia State (Kansas) senior quarterback Braxton Marstall; Angelo State (San Angelo, Texas) senior defensive end Markus Jones; and Sioux Falls (South Dakota) junior running back Gabriel Watson.

The engine that runs Ferris’ offense, Campbell has thrown for 2,453 yards and 23 touchdowns through the air, and added 1,188 yards and 20 touchdowns on the ground.

Campbell’s stiffest competition comes in the form of Hall. Hall currently leads all Division II quarterbacks with 4,152 passing yardage and is fourth with 31 passing touchdowns.

This marks the first time a Ferris football player has been nominated for the Harlon Hill Trophy since Jason Vander Laan took the award home in back-to-back years during the 2014 and 2015 campaigns.

The list of 37 candidates was boiled down to nine after sports information directors at 166 NCAA Division II football-playing institutions wrapped up regional voting. Those nine athletes will now move to the national ballot.

The winner of the Harlon Hill Trophy will be crowned Friday, Dec. 14, and will be honored at the Little Rock Touchdown Club awards banquet on Jan. 10.