Sports Shorts

Track & Field Compete at Aquinas Invite

The men and women of the Ferris State track & field teams suited up for the second time this season to take part in the Aquinas Invitational held in Grand Rapids.

The Bulldogs men’s team took home third place with 100 points in the meet. Running strong for the Bulldogs was Damonta Madden who took first place in both the 60-meter dash and the 200 meters. Ryan Stankey also finished first in the shot put with teammate Ross Miller just behind him in second place.

The women earned 56 points, thanks in part to Rachel Long and Maycee Robinson who took first and second place in the weight throw. Breeann Ovokaitys also finished ahead of the crowd, winning the mile run.

The teams’ next action will take place at Saginaw Valley State this weekend, as the events span both Friday and Saturday.

Bulldog Squads Split at Home

Both the men and women’s basketball teams had home games against Northwood and LSSU this past week. The women split the two games, first losing to Northwood 84-60, and then topping LSSU 62-55.

Meanwhile, the men’s team defeated Northwood 84-78 before having their train derailed when they met Lake Superior State, who stymied a Bulldog comeback attempt and won 69-67 to end a 16-game winning streak. Despite the conference loss, the men’s team still holds a share of the number one spot in the GLIAC thanks to Saginaw Valley State, who also lost their first conference game last Saturday.

Both Bulldog teams will play at home against Hillsdale tomorrow, before hitting the road to take on Saginaw Valley State on Jan. 31.

Four Dawgs Recognized by GLIAC

Each term, the GLIAC recognizes both athletic prowess and academic achievement by compiling a list of six male and female student-athletes to grant the GLIAC Commissioner’s Award. Ferris State University had the most award recipients, with four winners sporting crimson and gold jerseys.

Receivers of the award, were junior libero Danielle Dowd and junior hitter Alexis Huntey of the Bulldog volleyball team, along with junior defensive end Justin Zimmer and junior quarterback Jason VanderLaan of the football team.

The same honor will be awarded to 12 student-athletes following the spring season as well.